By communications - Posted on 29 juin 2016

Version imprimable

<<  Back to home  /  French version

Institute of Microbiology and Hygiene of the University of Montreal

 

 

The Institute of Microbiology and Hygiene of the University of Montreal is mostly indebted to its scientific experts for its success. From the beginning, they ensured that Dr. Frappier’s dream would become a reality. From 1934–1935, Dr. Frappier was assisted by students, medical doctors and veterinarians, who became part of the first science cohort of the Institute of Microbiology. Most of them studied in the United States or in Europe, like Dr. Frappier, or in renowned institutions like St-Luc Hospital in Montreal or l’École vétérinaire d’Alfort in France. Amongst them were people like Victorien Fredette, Dr. Frappier’s first assistant, Lionel Forté, Jean Tassé, Maurice Panisset, Jean Denis, Vytautas Pavilanis, Paul Marois and Adrien Borduas.

 

With the passing of the years, the Institute’s growing team built its strength on the complementary nature of its activities, as shown by the establishment of various research services. The Microbiology, Public Health and Preventive Medicine Research Service brought together complementary and multidisciplinary departments, amongst which appeared the BCG Service, the Diphtheria Service, the Vaccination Service or the Human Serum Drying Service.

 

These services worked in such different fields as experimental tuberculosis, smallpox, gas gangrene or the preventive effects of the BCG vaccine in the treatment of leukemia. All of these numerous research areas will produce a large number of biological products such as the BCG vaccine, diphtheria and tetanus toxoids, normal horse serum or antivariolic and antityphoid vaccines. Some of the Institute’s departments were preparing biological products and others were dedicated to microbiology teaching or to preventive medicine missions, such as BCG vaccination.

 

The knowledge, dedication and productivity of the staff chosen by Dr. Frappier will contribute to the undeniable reputation of the Institute of Microbiology on a regional, national and international level.

Logo INRS
English

By communications - Posted on 29 juin 2016

La science au service des blessés 
L'effort de guerre d'Armand Frappier 

Version imprimable

L’Institut de microbiologie et d'hygiène de l'Université de Montréal

<< Retour à l'accueil  /  Version anglophone

 

Le développement de l’Institut de microbiologie est attribuable, en grande partie, aux experts scientifiques qui, dès le début, ont fait en sorte que le rêve du Dr Frappier devienne réalité. Dès 1934-1935, le Dr Frappier va être accompagné par des étudiants, des médecins, des vétérinaires qui vont former la première cohorte de scientifiques de l’Institut. Beaucoup ont effectué leurs études supérieures aux États-Unis ou en Europe, à l’instar d’Armand Frappier, ou dans des établissements reconnus comme l’Hôpital St-Luc ou l’École vétérinaire d’Alfort (France). Parmi eux, citons : Victorien Fredette, le premier assistant du Dr Frappier, Lionel Forté, Jean Tassé, Maurice Panisset, Jean Denis, Vytautas Pavilanis, Paul Marois ou encore Adrien Borduas.

 

L’équipe de l’Institut de microbiologie, qui va s’accroître au fil des ans, tire sa force de son interdisciplinarité en terme de recherche, comme le montrent les différents services de l’Institut. Ainsi, la Section des recherches en microbiologie, hygiène publique et médecine préventive regroupe des services, à la fois multidisciplinaires et complémentaires, parmi lesquels on compte le Service du BCG, le Service de la diphtérie, le Service des vaccins, ou encore le Service de dessiccation du sérum humain.

 

Tous explorent des champs de recherches aussi variés que la tuberculose expérimentale, la variole, la gangrène gazeuse ou les effets préventifs du vaccin BCG dans le traitement de la leucémie. Ces recherches diversifiées vont amener la production d’une multitude de produits biologiques, dont le vaccin du BCG, les anatoxines diphtériques et tétaniques, le sérum normal de cheval ou les vaccins antivarioliques et antityphoïdiques. D’autres sections de l’Institut se concentrent sur la préparation des produits biologiques, l’enseignement spécialisé de la microbiologie ou sur les œuvres de médecine préventive, comme la vaccination par le BCG.

 

L’expertise, le dévouement et la productivité du personnel choisi par le Dr Frappier vont contribuer à la notoriété incontestable de l’Institut de microbiologie au niveau local, national et international.