By anne-marie.dubois - Posted on 08 août 2016

Science for the wounded
The work of Dr. Armand Frappier

Version imprimable

<<  Back to home  /  French version

General situation

 
At the outbreak of World War II, Canada intended to set up its military medical services to anticipate the numerous injured servicemen soon-to-come from war zones. As large blood supplies were going to be needed, The National Research Council of Canada set up research committees on blood preservation and storage and also on blood substitutes in order to determine which strategy was best for the country. 
 
Late in 1940, Canadian authorities chose to produce normal human serum, a blood derived substitute, according to the experiments led by Dr. C. H. Best at the University of Toronto.
 
Since a lot of blood was required for its preparation, they organized the first national blood donation program. Specialized clinics were developed by the Canadian Red Cross Society, which took charge of blood donations across the country. These were made on a voluntary basis and without any compensation. Blood donations were then sent to Toronto to be processed and transformed into liquid and dried human serum by the Connaught Laboratories. Afterward the serum was forwarded to the battlefronts for the benefit of the Canadian and Allied soldiers.
 
It was not long before authorities realized that government-subsidized laboratories in Toronto would not be able to cope with the surge in blood donations. Thus emerged the prospect of another blood processing centre. According to the Red Cross and some of its committees, including the Blood Donor Service Committee, establishing this service in the eastern part of Canada was a wise decision to handle blood donations from this part of the country. The Institute of Microbiology and Hygiene of the University of Montreal thus became the perfect candidate.
 
 
 

Institute of Microbiology and Hygiene of the University of Montreal

 
According to Dr. Frappier the young Institute of Microbiology was about to play a major part in Canada’s war effort. Indeed, the Institute already had many benefits on its side, such as the expertise from Dr. Frappier and his colleagues, all the research they conducted especially on the BCG vaccine, the trust and research grants they received from the National Research Council of Canada, and also the support from the University of Montreal which accommodated the new laboratories of the Institute of Microbiology. All of these assets proved to be decisive for the patriotic involvement of the Institute.
 
 
From the end of 1941, the Canadian Red Cross Society advised the federal government to allow the opening of a second Canadian centre to process blood in order to avoid a shortage of serum and also to relieve the Connaught Laboratories of Toronto, which were then processing all blood donations in Canada. Moreover, a processing centre in the eastern part of the country could be, at that time, in charge of collecting blood donations coming from the Province of Quebec and the Maritimes. For the Canadian Red Cross, this centre could only be the Institute of Microbiology as it had all technical conveniences as well as a strategic geographical position.
 
But they had to wait for another year and for the intercession of the former Prime Minister of Canada, Richard Bedford Bennett, before the Department of Pensions and National Health could authorize a second centre to process blood for the soldiers’ needs. The Connaught Laboratories also gave the Institute of Microbiology some technical and practical help. Afterwards, the Montreal Institute first began to separate serum from blood in October 1943, before taking care of the whole process up to the desiccation of the serum later on, as it was done in Toronto. The production of dried human serum only began in March 1944 due to long delays with the shipping of the laboratory equipment, which caused increasing costs. Dried serum was all ready to be dispatched by September 1944.

Logo INRS
English

By communications - Posted on 30 juin 2016

La science au service des blessés 
L'effort de guerre d'Armand Frappier 

Version imprimable

<<  Retour à l'accueil  /  Version anglophone

Contexte

 
Lorsque la Deuxième Guerre mondiale éclate, le Canada veut organiser ses services médicaux militaires pour anticiper l’afflux de blessés en provenance des théâtres d’opérations. Puisque des réserves de sang seront nécessaires en grande quantité pour les soigner, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada créé des comités de recherche sur le sang, sa conservation, son stockage, mais aussi sur ses dérivés et substituts, afin de cerner quelle stratégie devrait adopter le pays.
 
À la suite des expériences du Dr C. H. Best de l’Université de Toronto, les autorités canadiennes optent, à la fin 1940, pour la préparation du sérum normal humain, un dérivé du sang. Comme il est nécessaire d’avoir de grandes quantités de sang pour sa préparation, on met en place le premier programme national de don de sang. La Société de la Croix-Rouge canadienne, responsable de la collecte de sang, va établir des cliniques spécialisées sur tout le territoire pour accueillir les dons de sang qui se feront de manière volontaire et sans rétribution. Le sang collecté sera acheminé à Toronto. Dans les Laboratoires Connaught, on procèdera à son traitement jusqu’à l’obtention du sérum normal humain, sous une forme liquide et desséchée. Il sera ensuite envoyé sur les champs de bataille pour venir en aide aux soldats canadiens et alliés.
 
Rapidement, on pressent et l’on observe que les dons vont être nombreux et que les laboratoires subventionnés par le gouvernement à Toronto ne vont pas être suffisants. La perspective de répartir les tâches avec un autre centre de traitement du sang est envisagée. Selon la Croix-Rouge et certains de ses comités, dont le Comité du service de dons de sang, il serait judicieux que celui-ci soit situé dans l’est du Canada, pour recevoir les dons de cette partie du pays. Aussi, l’Institut de microbiologie et d’hygiène de l’Université de Montréal se positionne comme le candidat idéal.
 

L’Institut de microbiologie et d'hygiène de l'Université de Montréal

 
D’après le Dr Frappier, le jeune Institut de microbiologie peut jouer un rôle majeur dans l’effort de guerre que va fournir le Canada. Son expertise et celles de ses collègues, les recherches qu’ils ont menées et notamment celles sur le BCG, la confiance du Conseil national de recherches du Canada qui s’est traduit par des subventions de recherches, mais aussi le soutien de l’Université de Montréal qui va héberger les nouveaux locaux de l’Institut de microbiologie, sont autant d’acquis qui seront déterminants dans l’implication patriotique à venir. 
 
À partir de la fin 1941, la Société de la Croix-Rouge canadienne va préconiser, auprès du gouvernement fédéral, l’autorisation d’un deuxième centre canadien pour traiter le sang des donneurs afin de ne pas risquer une pénurie de sérum et aussi pour délester les Laboratoires Connaught de Toronto qui traitent alors tous les dons du Canada. De plus, un centre dans l’est du pays pourrait prendre en charge les dons provenant de la province du Québec ou des Maritimes. Selon la Croix-Rouge canadienne, ce centre devrait être l’Institut de microbiologie, car il présente tous les avantages techniques et une position géographique stratégique. 
 
Il faut encore un an et l’intervention de l’ancien premier ministre du Canada, Richard Bedford Bennett, avant que le ministère des Pensions et de la Santé nationale autorise un deuxième centre à traiter le sang pour les besoins des soldats. Les Laboratoires Connaught vont fournir une aide technique et matérielle à l’Institut de microbiologie, qui va commencer, en octobre 1943, par séparer le sérum du sang, avant d’effectuer le processus complet jusqu’à dessiccation, comme on le fait à Toronto. La livraison du matériel et des équipements a accusé un retard important. Des coûts se sont également ajoutés. Cela fait en sorte que la production de sérum humain desséché ne débute qu’en mars 1944 et qu’il ne sera prêt à être expédié qu’en septembre 1944.