By anne-marie.dubois - Posted on 08 août 2016

Science for the wounded
The work of Dr. Armand Frappier

Version imprimable

<<  Back to home  /  French version

Blood and its substitutes

 
During World War II, one of the many medical challenges was to save as many soldiers as possible. Therefore large amounts of blood had to be stored nearby. However, life-saving procedures such as blood transfusion had their share of hindrances. In case of serious injuries, this technique enabled patients’ blood volume to be restored. However, in the 1940s, blood type matching was not yet fully understood and could result in some tragic transfusion failures, even amongst supposedly compatible patients. Back then, blood preservation was time-limited and depending on weather conditions, could only be stored no more than two weeks. Its transportation and storage being difficult, scientists saw a solution in blood substitutes, such as plasma or serum.
 
Unlike blood, plasma and serum did not cause any mismatch between donors and recipients, as they were deprived of blood cells, which could provoke immune reactions. Thus, in the late 1930s, committees were set up to study blood substitutes in Great Britain, in the United States and in Canada, where Dr. Best, from the University of Toronto took responsibility for the experiments. Plasma and serum were chosen over blood and began to be mass-produced. Besides, they used a new lyophilization technique to freeze-dry blood substitutes thanks to the combined actions of low temperature and vacuum. These products were lighter than whole blood and easier to carry to the battlefields. Moreover, plasma and serum could last for an extended period of time and could be put in storage through any environmental conditions. Once sterile water was added, they were ready to be injected into the patients. In the same way as blood did, they restored blood volume that was lost by the wounded and prevented traumatic shock.
 
 

Connaught Laboratories

 
The Connaught Medical Research Laboratories of the University of Toronto shared many objectives with the Institute of Microbiology. Founded in 1914, these laboratories aimed to foster research and education in preventive medicine and public health.
 
Following the Institut Pasteur of Paris as a role model, the Connaught Laboratories managed to finance their research and education programs by the production and sale of biological products, a method that also inspired the Institute of Microbiology.
 
Carrying on the research performed by Dr. C. H. Best of the University of Toronto, the Federal Government and the Canadian Red Cross Society helped the Connaught Laboratories with the production of dried human serum for the Canadian and Allied soldiers, as soon as January 1941. The blood donations required for the production of human serum never ceased to increase during the war, compelling the Connaught Laboratories to expand several times their war effort facilities and to acquire new equipment to boost productivity. Alongside the dried human serum production, they also prepared penicillin for the Canadian Army. Nevertheless, the Connaught Laboratories always maintained their production of other biological products, such as the typhoid-paratyphoid vaccine or insulin and they still conducted research in preventive medicine and public health.
 
Throughout the war, the Toronto laboratories carried out a high rate of productivity as shown by the figures of 1944. During that year, the Connaught Laboratories received 868,684 blood and serum donations to process. As a result, 184,436 bottles of dried human serum were shipped to Ottawa’s medical supplies or directly overseas, in Great Britain. After the war, they kept up their research and development activities by working, among other things, on blood fractionation and poliomyelitis treatment.

Logo INRS
English

By communications - Posted on 30 juin 2016

La science au service des blessés 
L'effort de guerre d'Armand Frappier 

Version imprimable

<<  Retour à l'accueil  /  Version anglophone

Le sang et ses substituts

 
Un des principaux enjeux médicaux de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale est de sauver le plus de soldats possible, et cela signifie avoir rapidement accès à de grandes quantités de sang. Cependant, certaines des opérations médicales qui permettraient de sauver plus de vies, comme la transfusion sanguine, comportent de nombreuses contraintes. Cette technique, en effet, permet de restaurer le volume sanguin des blessés, à la suite de blessures graves. Or, dans les années 1940, la compatibilité entre les groupes sanguins recèle encore certains mystères entraînant l’échec, parfois tragique, de certaines transfusions, même entre patients supposément compatibles. Autre obstacle, à l’époque le sang ne se conserve qu’au maximum deux semaines et suivant des conditions atmosphériques particulières. Son transport et son stockage étant très difficiles, la solution qui retient l’attention des scientifiques est celle des substituts du sang, comme le plasma ou le sérum. 
 
À la différence du sang, le plasma et le sérum ne présentent pas d’incompatibilité entre donneur et receveur, car ils sont débarrassés des cellules sanguines responsables des réactions immunitaires. Aussi dès la fin des années 1930, des comités sont mis en place et on étudie les substituts sanguins en Grande-Bretagne, aux États-Unis et au Canada, avec le Dr Best de l’Université de Toronto. Préférés au sang, ces substituts commencent alors à être produits à grande échelle. De plus, on utilise sur eux une technique encore nouvelle à l’époque, la lyophilisation, afin de les déshydrater, dans le vide et dans le froid. Plus légers que le sang liquide, ces produits se transportent plus facilement. Ils peuvent aussi se conserver sur de longues périodes et être entreposés sous toutes les conditions atmosphériques. On peut les administrer aux patients immédiatement, avec l’ajout d’eau stérile. Tout comme le sang, ils rétablissent le volume sanguin perdu et évitent ainsi les chocs traumatiques chez les blessés.
 

Les laboratoires Connaught

 
Les laboratoires de recherche médicale Connaught de l’Université de Toronto ont des objectifs similaires à ceux de l’Institut de microbiologie. Fondés en 1914, ces laboratoires souhaitent développer la recherche en médecine préventive et en hygiène publique, mais aussi promouvoir l’enseignement de ces domaines. Suivant le modèle de l’Institut Pasteur de Paris, la recherche et l’enseignement sont financés grâce à la vente de produits biologiques, ce qui inspirera également l’Institut de microbiologie. 
 
À la suite des recherches du Dr C. H. Best de l’Université de Toronto, les laboratoires Connaught bénéficient de l’aide du gouvernement fédéral et de la Société de la Croix-Rouge canadienne, afin de produire, dès janvier 1941, le sérum normal humain desséché à destination des soldats canadiens et alliés. Les dons de sang, qui permettent de préparer le sérum humain, ne vont cesser d’augmenter tout au long de la guerre, obligeant les laboratoires Connaught à augmenter, à plusieurs reprises, les espaces dédiés à l’effort de guerre et à acquérir de nouveaux équipements afin d’être plus productifs. En plus de produire le sérum humain desséché, ils préparent la pénicilline à destination des Forces armées. Ils continuent néanmoins à produire d’autres produits biologiques, comme le vaccin typhoïde-paratyphoïde ou encore l’insuline, et à conduire leurs recherches en médecine préventive et en hygiène publique. 
 
Les laboratoires de Toronto fournissent, pendant tout le conflit, une productivité élevée et soutenue comme le montrent les chiffres de l’année 1944. Cette année-là, les laboratoires Connaught reçoivent 868 684 dons de sang et de sérum à traiter. Ils expédient, dans les réserves médicales à Ottawa et directement sur le front, en Grande-Bretagne, 184 436 bouteilles de sérum humain desséché. Après la guerre, ils poursuivent leurs activités de recherche et de développement avec, entre autres, le fractionnement du sang et la lutte contre la poliomyélite.