By anne-marie.dubois - Posted on 08 août 2016

Science for the wounded
The work of Dr. Armand Frappier

Version imprimable

<<  Back to home  /  French version

Additional war productions and dispatching of biological products

 
Despite the war effort being a priority, the Institute’s researchers carried on their research in public health and preventive medicine, with a particular emphasis put on studies related to military medicine. Experiments were made on pyrogenic bodies which make human serum toxic, on gas gangrene and war wounds. They also studied the viral origins of cancer, as well as the various modes of vaccination for the BCG and allergies that this vaccine causes in some patients.
 
As a result, Dr. Frappier’s team developed other biological products in addition to human serum, such as diphtheria and tetanus toxoids, smallpox vaccine and penicillin. Varied buyers such as the departments of the federal and the provincial Health, Allied armies and even the Free French Forces, purchased these products. Thus, starting in 1941 the Institute of Microbiology dispatched vaccines and serums to the Province of Quebec, to Canada and to Europe. Exportation of biological products reached its peak at the end of 1944 with the shipments of dried human serum.
 
From that moment on, the Human Serum Desiccation Service worked tirelessly to catch up with the Connaught Laboratories so to send dried serum as quickly as possible to the injured. Thousands bottles of dried human serum were shipped to Europe, thanks to Canadian blood donors, but also to foreigners. For instance, in 1945, thousands of plasma donations from US citizens of the State of Vermont enabled the Institute of Microbiology to send more dried serum and plasma to combatants of the Free French Forces and Allied armies. Through the cultural and historical affinities joining the French and French Canadians, Dr. Frappier also helped many wounded French soldiers with shipments of dried human serum to Dr. Mérieux at the Mérieux Institute in Lyon.

Logo INRS
English

By communications - Posted on 30 juin 2016

La science au service des blessés 
L'effort de guerre d'Armand Frappier 

Version imprimable

<<  Retour à l'accueil  /  Version anglophone

Les autres productions de guerre et les expéditions de produits biologiques

 
 
Malgré la priorité de l’effort de guerre, les chercheurs de l’Institut continuent à mener leurs recherches dans les champs de l’hygiène publique et de la médecine préventive, avec un accent particulier mis sur les études relatives à la médecine militaire. Ils expérimentent sur les corps pyrogènes qui rendent le sérum humain toxique, sur la gangrène gazeuse chez les blessés de guerre. On étudie aussi l’origine virale du cancer, les différents modes de vaccination du BCG et les allergies que le vaccin provoque chez les patients.
 
De ce fait, l’équipe du Dr Frappier va élaborer d’autres produits biologiques en plus du sérum humain, comme les anatoxines diphtérique et tétanique, le vaccin antivariolique ou la pénicilline. Les acheteurs de ces produits sont aussi variés que les ministères de la Santé fédéral et provincial, les armées alliées et même les Forces françaises libres. Ainsi, depuis 1941, l’Institut de microbiologie expédie au Québec, au Canada et en Europe, des vaccins et des sérums. L’exportation de produits biologiques atteindra son paroxysme à partir de la fin de 1944, avec les envois de sérum humain desséché. 
 
Dès lors, le Service de dessiccation du sérum humain va travailler sans relâche pour rattraper son retard vis-à-vis des laboratoires Connaught et envoyer le plus rapidement possible du sérum desséché aux blessés. Des milliers de bouteilles de sérum humain desséché vont être expédiées en Europe grâce aux donneurs de sang canadiens, mais aussi étrangers. En 1945, des milliers de dons de plasma offerts par les citoyens américains de l’État du Vermont ont permis à l’Institut de microbiologie d’envoyer encore plus de sérum et de plasma desséchés aux combattants des Forces françaises libres et des armées alliées. 
 
Les affinités culturelles et historiques qui existaient entre les Français et les Canadiens français se sont aussi manifestées dans l’aide apportée par le Dr Frappier aux soldats français blessés, grâce aux envois de sérum humain desséché au Dr Mérieux de l’Institut Mérieux de Lyon.