Logo INRS
English

By anne-marie.dubois - Posted on 06 September 2016

Science for the wounded
The work of Dr. Armand Frappier

Version imprimable

<<  Back to home  /  French version

Development and modernization of bacteriology in the province of Quebec

 

 

 

 

The scientific advances, which appeared during the war effort spanned during peacetime and arose in a common effort to improve public health in Canada and especially in the province of Quebec. This prevailing trend of social and health reform urged Quebec to take some measures to be up to date.
 
It expressed itself in numerous projects such as the idea of creating a school of hygiene within the Institute of Microbiology. Dr. Frappier, as well as several influential public characters (Montreal Chambers of Commerce, Provincial Health Minister Paquette), were at the root of this project. According to them, Quebec needed to provide healthier environments. It was also necessary for the province to be self sufficient in the making of biological products, required by sanitary imperatives. Furthermore, it was necessary for the province to be able to train its own scientists instead of letting them study abroad (United States or Toronto).
 
 
Therefore, establishing a specialized teaching of public health and preventive medicine was going to bring forth many benefits for the province. First of all, teaching at the School of Hygiene was to be in French and new scientific and technical careers were to be created in order to modernize the Quebec scientific landscape. Then, these experts were to produce exactly what the province needed for its public health measures. Moreover, all the profits from the sale of biological products were to be “sent back to science” to help research and education.
 
The School of Hygiene thus fell within the modern microbiology movement initiated by the Pasteur Institute of Paris. The founding of the School of Hygiene fulfilled some of the goals set by the Institute of Microbiology, namely, make the province more economically autonomous in science and stimulate specialized teaching. Besides, the school’s will was to promote French-speaking scientific careers and to strengthen French-Canadian expertise. 
 
The School of Hygiene was founded at the end of 1945 with the agreement of the University of Montreal and the financial support of the provincial government. It began to be operational in 1946. Dr. Frappier was to be dean of the school from 1945 to 1965 and the Institute of Microbiology provided premises and experts for teaching and research.

Logo INRS
English

By anne-marie.dubois - Posted on 06 September 2016

La science au service des blessés 
L'effort de guerre d'Armand Frappier 

Version imprimable

<<  Retour à l'accueil  /  Version anglophone

Émancipation de la bactériologie au Québec

 

Les progrès scientifiques réalisés pendant l’effort de guerre se prolongent en temps de paix et se matérialisent dans une volonté commune d’améliorer la santé publique au Canada et surtout au Québec. Ce courant général de réforme sanitaire et sociale incite le Québec à prendre des mesures pour se moderniser.

 

Cette modernisation se manifeste par des initiatives comme le projet de fonder une école d’hygiène au sein de l’Institut de microbiologie. C’est au Dr Frappier et à d’autres acteurs publics influents (Chambres de commerce de Montréal, ministre provincial de la Santé) que l’on doit l’origine de ce projet. Selon eux, il est temps que le Québec modernise ses secteurs de la santé, qu’il puisse être autosuffisant dans la production de produits biologiques nécessaires aux besoins sanitaires et qu’il puisse former ses propres scientifiques au lieu qu’ils étudient à l’étranger (États-Unis ou Toronto).

 

La mise en place d’un enseignement spécialisé de l’hygiène publique et de la médecine préventive va apporter plusieurs bénéfices à la province. L’enseignement au sein de l’École d’hygiène sera donné en français et de nouvelles carrières scientifiques et spécialisées dans l’hygiène vont s’ouvrir et moderniser le paysage scientifique québécois. Ces experts pourront produire ce dont la province a besoin en matière de santé publique. De plus, les profits tirés de la vente de ces produits biologiques « retourneront à la science » et viendront alimenter les recherches et l’enseignement.

 

L’École d’hygiène s’inscrit donc dans la microbiologie moderne initiée par l’Institut Pasteur de Paris. Outre la volonté de favoriser des carrières scientifiques en français et de renforcer le savoir-faire canadien-français, la fondation de l’École d’hygiène répond à certains buts que s’était fixé l’Institut de microbiologie, à savoir rendre la province économiquement plus autonome dans le domaine scientifique et favoriser l’enseignement spécialisé.

 

Avec l’accord de l’Université de Montréal et le soutien financier du gouvernement provincial, l’École d’hygiène est fondée à la fin de l’année 1945 et débute ses activités en 1946. Le Dr Frappier en sera le doyen (1945-1965) et l’Institut de microbiologie lui fournira ses locaux et ses experts pour l’enseignement et la recherche.